Pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 10-1-360, beginning July 1, 2012, secondary metals recyclers who purchase regulated metal property in any quantity must register with the appropriate sheriff’s office or offices.
To Determine the County of Registration
Business (Corporation or Partnership)
If you are registering as a business, you must register with the sheriff in each county where you maintain a place of business. If you maintain a place of business in more than one county, you must file a separate registration form for each business location.
Individual (Sole Proprietor)
If you are registering as an individual, you must register in the county where you reside.
Non-resident of Georgia
If you are not a resident of Georgia, you must register in the county where you primarily engage or intend to engage in business as a secondary metals recycler.
Obtain a copy of the Secondary Metals Recycler Registration form online at this link or by visiting the Cobb County Sheriff’s Office.
Complete and submit the registration form in person to the appropriate sheriff’s office or offices.
Application for registration must include:
- Non-Refundable Registration Fee
- Submit payment of $200 with the registration form; the payment must be made by check or money order payable to the Cobb County Sheriff’s Office. Checks returned for insufficient funds are subject to a $30 service charge pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 16-9-20.
- Citizenship / Qualified Alien Status
If you are a qualified alien, your Secure and Verifiable documentation must be attached to the application.
Read the instructions carefully and be familiar with the laws governing Secondary Metals Recyclers in the State of Georgia.
Each registration is valid for a 12 month period beginning with the effective registration date as established by the sheriff’s office once all registration requirements are met.