Executive – 2021


Sheriff Craig D. Owens Sr is the Chief Executive Law Enforcement Officer of Cobb County. The Sheriff is elected into office every four years by the voters of Cobb County and is statutorily responsible for the management of the Sheriff’s Office.


The Sheriff’s Office is comprised of the Executive Office, Administrative Services, Operations, and Detention Facilities Divisions and the North Central Georgia Law Enforcement Academy. The agency also participates in the Marietta/Cobb/Smyrna Organized Crime Unit, U.S. Marshall’s Fugitive Task Force, U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement and the DEA Task Force.


The Sheriff’s Office is actively involved in education and training at all levels, both internally and externally.  Providing information and education to the public, especially our youth, is just as critical as the training we provide to our employees.  We are constantly developing programs to better educate our youth to help prepare them for the future.

The Sheriff’s Office is committed to providing our deputies with the necessary training to effectively handle the challenges of a modern and diverse suburban population. The Sheriff’s Office is committed to enhancing its training efforts to ensure the safety of our officers and the citizens of Cobb County.